Thursday, June 29, 2006

The Five Love Languages

I'm re-reading a great book called "The Five Love Languages of Children" by Gary Chapman and Ross Campbell. This book helps you learn how your child expresses and receives love through one of five communication styles:
  • Quality Time
  • Words of Affirmation
  • Gifts
  • Acts of Service
  • Physical Touch

For example, some actions or words mean more to a child than others. You may think you're telling your child how much you love him by spending an entire afternoon doing his favorite activity together. In reality, he actually feels loved and honored when you give him gifts. Or, maybe your daughter receives your unconditional love when you are putting your arm around her or holding her.

The original "Five Love Languages" book relates to couples and there is also a "Five Love Languages of Teenagers" too! A must read for improving communication in your family.

No comments: